If you doubt the lies to be true just ask the blind man he saw it too!

 

Some people sit around with their friends and get drunk at bars, go dancing or whatnot but NERDS (true nerds) get drunk and make simple things (like an old girl scout poem) into a deep philosophical conversation.  So today’s blog is a complied of a drunken deep thought ( with bold commentary from a sober me.) Enjoy:

I love this poem:

“Ladies and Gentlemen, skinny and stout, 
I’ll tell you a tale I know nothing about;
 The Admission is free, so pay at the door,
 Now pull up a chair and sit on the floor .

One fine day in the middle of the night,
 Two dead boys got up to fight;
 Back to back they faced each other, 
Drew their swords and shot each other. 

A blind man came to watch fair play,
 A mute man came to shout “Horray!”
 A deaf policeman heard the noise and 
Came to stop those two dead boys. 

He lived on the corner in the middle of the block, 
In a two-story house on a vacant lot; 
A man with no legs came walking by, 
and kicked the lawman in his thigh.

 He crashed through a wall without making a sound,
 into a dry creek bed and suddenly drowned;
 The long black hearse came to cart him away, 
But he ran for his life and is still gone today. 

I watched from the corner of the big round table,
 The only eyewitness to facts of my fable;
 But if you doubt my lies are true,
 Just ask the blind man, he saw it too.”

Here begins the booze enhanced blog so read it with slurred tones:

I love it for more than is rhythmic pentameter; I love it because it is profound statement that all is impossible presented in a possible way. This poem told to me in fun by my dear friend stirred deep thoughts inside me.

I have learned in my time that everything just IS with no defining line of black or white. We are one with all existence and all perception is a choice.  What a simple way I just defined a very complex concept. (I am so arrogant when I am drunk) I am proud but my friends have a tendency to make it even better.

(Especially when alcohol is involved.)

I was discussing this poem and the feelings it stirred in me last night with another dear friend when he spit out an analogy that clicked everything I was trying to say into clear focus: “Can you pinpoint where the air in your dining room stops and the air in your kitchen begins? It is just there as a layer to the complex static that our primitive receptors detect.”

(WOW, How did that make sense to me? So complex and I totally wrote it as if everyone would understand what I was saying.  And how exactly does that fit into my concept? I still am not sure but it sounded really cool. Let’s see if I elaborate.) 

How does that relate to the opposite poem? (Good question, because now that I am sober I have no idea!) Ah HA! I say! Let me show the logic my mind creates (UH OH!):

Have you met a person you felt was selfish yet they were very involved in trying to save the people around them? All profound thoughts that they come across they relate to other people ‘who need them’ or they immediately jump to the worst case scenario? How about the opposite a very selfless person who seems to exist as beacon of light in the darkness?

 (Picture me standing slightly slurred speech with a drink in one hand slinging it around as I try to illustrate my point with hand motions. Truly excited by this concept and cheered on by my friends I expand)

I know several people who meet one or the other description upon their surface analysis but when you take a closer look, both descriptions are correct but completely wrong at the same time. (Did I just say that a selfish person is not selfish and a non selfish person is selfish WTF? This is where my vocal rant ends and I decide it is time to go home and type this into a blog. I still don’t understand how the air analogy fits but I probably never will truly understand unless I get drunk again.)

*The “selfless” person takes every profound and some not profound thoughts and immediately apply them all to their self they tend to look at the world with empathy because they apply all feelings to themselves first then branch out to look at others. This seems wrong, opposite to the surface image they project. This is selfish and self centered BUT is it really? Their introspection and relentless self analysis creates constant growth and compassion for others because they are filling themselves with new ideas. (LOL, where am I going with this?)

*The “selfish” person has given up on their self growth. Resigned themselves to be as they are and therefore focus on the ones they can help. This is inherently selfless! They are seeking to make the others around them better and sacrificing themselves in the process. On the surface they are perceived as judgmental and or selfish for their selfless sacrifice.

 (UH! ok, kinda but I see where I was going with this, but it is very confusing)

Why? Well my mother taught me long ago that if you want to help others reach happiness or peace you must first do it for yourself. So the people who seem selfless on the surface actual put their self and their spirituality above all others allowing for room to be compassionate or generous with their feelings while their opposite is deprived and have a deep void where they have sacrificed themselves. The answer is simple everything is both and nothing is black or white. with every introspection or analysis new layers are formed proving yet again everything is correct and everything is wrong all at once!  (So basically I decided that no one is actually selfish or selfless by saying that nothing is right and nothing is wrong. I really do love this concept but reality doesn’t really let you subscribe to it. I have to ask though; What am I trying to justify?)

I will finish with another poem that exemplifies my thoughts:

The sky is below

The earth is above

Both are correct

Both are wrong

Where you stand

on the Earth

Decides which lie

you will abide

(YUP! Full circle! With this philosophy I could justify anything! Bahahaha!)

comic2-270

 

I wrote this post a while back but ti fit with today’s daily prompt:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/daily-prompt-fake/

Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire

by michelle w. on August 23, 2013

What was the last lie you told? Why did you tell it?

 

Here are some other great posts:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jenmarsh79

I am a stay at home mother of two who has recently discovered the joy of blogging! :)

14 responses to “If you doubt the lies to be true just ask the blind man he saw it too!”

  1. roweboat55 says :

    Uh Ha, I see

  2. Paul F. Lenzi says :

    thanks for linking to my poem “Poseur”

Leave a Reply

