Musings on Sonnet L (Don’t put all your eggs in one basket)

“How heavy do I journey on the way,

When what I seek, my weary travel’s end,

Doth teach that ease and that repose to say

‘Thus far the miles are measured from thy friend!’

The beast that bears me, tired with my woe,

Plods dully on, to bear that weight in me,

As if by some instinct the wretch did know

His rider loved not speed, being made from thee:

The bloody spur cannot provoke him on

That sometimes anger thrusts into his hide;

Which heavily he answers with a groan,

More sharp to me than spurring to his side;

For that same groan doth put this in my mind;

My grief lies onward and my joy behind.”

Sonnet L by Shakespeare

I have a tendency to read sonnets like the one above when I am feeling sad. It makes me feel better. Ironically, most of the sonnets are tragic and pessimistic at first glance yet they bring me a lot of joy. To me they are beautiful expressions of heartfelt emotions. I can only dream of invoking such emotions with my writings.

I like to think abstractly about Shakespeare rather than taking it at first glance.  Its obvious he is talking about a man riding a horse to exhaustion but to me it is much deeper. We all have things that drive us in life things that motivate us to move forward with our journey and if we rely solely on one it will groan and eventually halt progress.  We must venture beyond our comfort zone and look at new ways to experience our journey of life or we will be full of sorrow. I ponder this sonnet  to mean the same as the cliche ” Don’t put all your eggs in one basket.” I could be far off from what was actually meant but isn’t art meant to be interpreted by the beholder? I hope so, I would hate to think about offending Shakespeare.

Sometimes reading something so beautiful and deep gives me courage and hope. In closing here is one of my poems:

Chaos

 

Life’s wind devours my heart torn

Between loves crossfire hope is reborn

Destined to lose, hopeless nature still shines

Cannot break free from hell, to cross the line

To understand is control lost with forlorn

To not understand is to live in chaos undefined

Here is a beautiful expression of art found at:

 http://www.henderson-art.co.uk/art-detail.php?id=chaos

chaos

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jenmarsh79

I am a stay at home mother of two who has recently discovered the joy of blogging! :)

3 responses to “Musings on Sonnet L (Don’t put all your eggs in one basket)”

  1. roweboat55 says :

    This is a different side.

  2. Bryan McDonald says :

    Great post. very well written. your blog have unique content.

Leave a Reply

