Best in Show: A Mommy Award

Best In Show: A Mommy Award

Image

The best in show award goes out to all the moms out there who consistently sacrifice and conceal their wants and needs for the greater good of the family.

Image

This award acknowledges and confirms that parenting is a hard job that is not for the faint of heart.  A mommy sometimes sacrifices hygiene, eating habits and general basic needs to ensure the rest of the family is presentable. The result is clean and pressed kids, a nicely dressed husband and a frazzled mess of a mother.

Image

I will accept this award for the following scenarios:

  1. Why my hair is usually a mess:      Girl child, “Mom, I can’t find that white top with the sparkles on it. Can you?”  Mom, “We picked out your clothes last night, why are you wanting to change it.” Girl child, “ I don’t want to wear that anymore! I want the sparkle top!! I didn’t like the way I looked in the other outfit” Mom, “Fine, I will look for it (mother stops trying to wrangle her hair and ties it into her usual messy bun and goes finds top).

Image

2. Why I never get to eat an actual breakfast: I cook breakfast before school. We all have eggs, toast and bacon on our plate. We start to sit down. Boy child,” Yummy mommy, I ate my entire bacon can I have yours? Mom, “ Yes dear. Girl child, “Mom I forgot I need you to sign a field trip form in my folder.” Mom gets up from the table gets form and signs it. Then sits back down. Girl child, “ Oh, I am out of lunch credit at school too.” Mom gets up and writes a check and places it inside the folder. Mom returns to the table to the boy finishing her eggs. Mom, “Um, were you hungry baby?” Boy child, ”Yes and the eggs were yummy. I thought you didn’t want yours because you were not at the table.”

3. Why my outfit has a weird/gross spot on it: I managed clean clothes this morning, I was so excited. I made through breakfast without spilling anything (mostly because I didn’t actually get to eat) we walk to the car to load up for school and my sweet awesome boy comes over and gives me an awesome wonderful hug! It turns out it wasn’t an actual hug it was I need a napkin and Mom is close so I will hug/smear my grossness all over her…

4. Why I don’t get to shower everyday: Ok you would think I could, I used too, but there never seems to be any time. Moms run around and solve everyone’s problems all day long. We ensure clean clothes; a clean house and that there are three meals a day for all. Then when we decide it is finally time to clean ourselves. We announce to the kids we are going to bath. They immediately give requests before you go after all are done you head to the bathroom. You close the door and hear tiny footsteps headed to the door. It’s the boy, “Can I sit in here and keep you company?” Mom, “No, I would like to shower alone please.” Boy, “Won’t you get lonely? I can make sure you won’t get lonely!” mom, no, I wont get lonely. Thank you. I am shutting the door and taking a shower now.” Boy, “Please don’t lock the door, I won’t feel safe if you can’t hear me.” Mom, “Fine, I will leave the door cracked but you need to return to the living room.” The boy returns to the living room and you begin to undress and turn on the water. Girl, “MOM!!! MOM!! The boy is bothering me!” Mom, “I am getting in the shower, you will have to wait. “ Loud yells, banging and laughing ensue. Mom hears the footsteps running to the bathroom, as she is about to actually get in the shower and BAM! The door flings open and the fight is in front of you. Towel wrapped around Mom she separates and mediates the fight. The water is turned off and she is walking through the house in a towel for thirty minutes. Husband comes home and sees mom in a towel, the kids a mess and just points and laughs.

Image

I accept this award for best in show on a stage made from a large pile dirty laundry. I stand proud with my messy hair and gross smeared clothing. My tummy growls as I beam with pride! In my speech I announce that although, I might be a hot mess my family is happy and loved. I wouldn’t trade a minute of motherhood for the days when I could spend an hour just on my hair! In the end, I would like to thank my kids for giving me the best life a mother could ask for!

Image

This post was written in response to today’s daily prompt:

Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats by michelle w. on August 27, 2013

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/daily-prompt-victory/

You are receiving an award –- either one that already exists, or a new one created just for you. What would the award be, why are you being honored, and what would you say in your acceptance speech?

 

Here are some other great responses:

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Another sunny day | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Logs | Agrifun.com
  3. Bosch? Tefal? Rowenta? Braun? | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. Rural Russia. Windy | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. Rural Toilet | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. It’s good to stay at home | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Abacus. Testing Nokia Asha 210 Camera | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Follow your way | Agrifun.com
  9. Wash me! | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. Field flowers | Bright Moments Catcher
  11. Realisation Dream (Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats) | Amelie Lockhart
  12. Daily Prompt: | Under the Monkey Tree
  13. Speechless [Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats] | unknowinglee
  14. Headless Horseman’s Victory | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  15. Daily Prompt-Writing Will Help Me Win | readingwithafeather
  16. I’m so honored | Right Down My Alley
  17. I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Geek Ergo Sum
  18. Cygnets (Daily Prompt: Victory) | photo potpourri
  19. DP Challenge: Victory; the Water Villages of Ha Long Bay, VN | Travels and Trifles
  20. Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond
  21. I’d like to thank… | thoughtsofrkh
  22. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank the Fans | One Starving Activist
  23. Boomer! | Andante Cantabile
  24. 153. The Scotsman Wins | kevindeisher
  25. The art of accepting blogging awards | The Novice Gardener
  26. Youth Triathlon | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  27. A Small Victory | The Ambitious Drifter
  28. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats (and Dogs) | littlegirlstory
  29. Such A Pretty Trophy | Maggie’s Stories
  30. Daily Prompt: Acceptance Speech – Belladonna on the stand | alienorajt
  31. My Award | The Nest
  32. Professor Dudley Worthington’s Lifetime Achievement Award (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  33. I’d Like to Thank My Cats: How Not To Accept An Award… | suzie81’s Blog
  34. I’d Like to Thank my Cats | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Don’t be hatin’ | mostlytrueramblings
  36. For me? How kind! | Life & Times
  37. Motherhood Award | A mom’s blog
  38. Burke Revisited | clarior e tenebris
  39. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Venti Means 20
  40. I Deserve That Trophy | Shilpa Sharma Online
  41. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats.| Beauty is on the inside Award! | Isabel MissV
  42. The reward would be an award in itself. | Hope* the happy hugger
  43. Thank you Mr Bear… | notsinglebutnothappy
  44. A Standing Ovation… and Silence. | An Upturned Soul
  45. Daily Prompt: …and the winner is ME | mommy&everything
  46. Daily Prompt: I’d like to thank my coffee maker. | M. L. Trefry
  47. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  48. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Dogs, Husband, Friends, and All Benign Deities | SERENDIPITY
  49. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Sued51’s Blog
  50. Daily Prompt: I’d like to thank my cats | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  51. Victory: A Dedication to All The Survivors | Mind My Mind But…
  52. Victory | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  53. “I’d Like to Thank My Cats” | Relax
  54. I’d like to thank Y’all! | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  55. First of all I would like to thank….. | djgarcia94
  56. Victory, from my eyes. | A Girl with a Piano

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jenmarsh79

I am a stay at home mother of two who has recently discovered the joy of blogging! :)

10 responses to “Best in Show: A Mommy Award”

Leave a Reply

