Mama bear makes an ass out of me sometimes…

Image

As parents we would do anything for our kids. We make ourselves look silly just to get a sliver of a smile when they are sad, we spend an exuberant amount of time thinking about how to make their lives better and subject ourselves to a large quantity of poor entertainment to satisfy them. We watch performances some would pay NOT to attend and place ourselves doing the gross and disgusting things that we never thought could be normal. And amongst all this, our lives are consumed. We become focused on family and forget the life we had before they came along. We sacrifice everything and yet we would die before we let anyone change it. Parenting is the best most complicated aspect of our lives.

Image

I am pondering this today because I found myself in an out of character position. I lost my temper on my son’s principal. The mama bear came flying out and I was rude, accusatory and downright incorrigable. I wanted unrealistic answers immediately! I have been trying to figure out why my son hates kindergarten for 9 weeks and my patience ran out.

The reality is, it wasn’t her fault. Or anyone’s fault, I was frustrated that my son is losing himself in school. He is not fitting the norm or integrating into their system. And now, I am wondering if I want him too. My boy is strong willed, he is opinionated and only motivated when he chooses to be motivated. I struggle with this at home and now at school he is exercising his right to choose. He is so very smart. When he wants, he will blow through the schoolwork without blinking and Kentucky has a very rigorous kindergarten curriculum.

Most of the time my son chooses to take the consequence of losing video games and not do his work. He weighs the consequence and is fine with his choice.

How do you combat that amount of analytical behavior from a five-year old? And do you truly want to break that habit? It is really rather intelligent.

I struggle though because I fear for his future. He must learn to function within our society. He must learn the value of work and he needs to value education. He doesn’t get in trouble for meanness or bad behavior, it is truly his defiant lack of motivation that is torturing my household. (When one of the kids is in trouble it is a sucky day for everyone.)

I wonder what I can do to change his attitude toward school. He hates going and it is a fight to bring him there every day. I struggle with the idea of homeschool but I am not sure that would solve anything, long term.

It is the reality that our lives are deeply affected by the public school system, Sometimes it is a positive influence and others it seems to be a stripping of individuality. Where is the balance and what am I supposed to do?

I regret my temper and my rash words but I am still frustrated and without help. I need a solution and I am at a loss of where to find it.

me

This topic fits with today’s daily prompt although it is not my biggest regret it is what I regret today and it was very childlike:

Daily Prompt: Childlike

by michelle w. on October 15, 2013

Explain your biggest regret — as though to a small child.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CHILDLIKE.

Check out some other great responses here:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Following Lenin Precepts | Inside my glitching mind
  2. Snail in the park | Inside my glitching mind
  3. “Do you want to play?”, ask the mongrel of the husky | We Live In A Flat
  4. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Childlike | Rebecca Barray
  6. Childlike | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. Confessions from the Cracked Pot | JC Bride ~
  8. Live Life, my child! Daily Prompt | The Rider
  9. Childlike | Motherhood and Beyond
  10. Daily Prompt: Childlike | મન ની વાત
  11. Face Your Fears | A Note To Life
  12. Prompt | hitting a brick wall
  13. Like a baby | The Magic Black Book
  14. Fairy Story | alienorajt
  15. Little Lucy, Grandpa, And The Eagle | The Jittery Goat
  16. Un Sognu Pe Campa/Un Reve Pour Vivre | Lost in Translation
  17. Puppies: Young and in love | aaroneharris
  18. A Poem: No Regrets | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  19. On Regrets, Dear Child | Dear Yolandi
  20. Daily Prompt: Childlike – Those Days Are Different | Eikons
  21. The Sunshine King | A Sign Of Life
  22. What is that? A child and his Binkie | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  23. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Awl and Scribe
  24. No Regrets | Life Confusions
  25. Lost Chances | Beyondthepuddle
  26. Merry Go Round | Processing the life
  27. GROUP PROJECT THEORY | I’m just Super Saiyan
  28. Daily Prompt: Childlike | My Atheist Blog
  29. Regrets | The Human Rights Warrior
  30. Regrets On the Other Side of the Coin | Rob’s Surf Report
  31. Just a Pup… | Haiku By Ku
  32. Childlike | Sue’s Trifles
  33. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  34. Daily Post: Childlike – China’s One-Child Rule | Travels and Trifles
  35. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Killdeer (Childlike) | photo potpourri
  37. Daily Prompt: Childlike | MissEmilyB23
  38. Journalist or biologist | Life is great
  39. Enjoying Ice-Cream Like A Child | NU VORBI, SCRIE!
  40. Enjoying Ice-Cream | NU VORBI, SCRIE!
  41. some times i went out | just another outlet
  42. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Steve Says….
  43. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Ruminations & Observations
  44. More Time | ExLibrisMachina
  45. Invaluable Lessons (du jour) | Holoholo Girls
  46. DANCE WITH THE KIDS | Parents Are People Too
  47. Daily Prompt: Childlike « The Blogging Path
  48. Spare me a few minutes, if you will… | thoughtsofrkh
  49. Great Big World – Daily Prompt | Reinvention of Mama
  50. Daily Prompt: Regrets | One Starving Activist
  51. Give It Your All | Flowers and Breezes
  52. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Winging it
  53. My son, I’m sorry — Mommy did a bad thing not too long ago | My Weary Heart
  54. Duncan the Sushi Roll #19 | Neva Samaki
  55. Better Late Than Too Late | True Stories
  56. Daily Prompt: Childlike | Be Fearless | peeksi.com
  57. Daily Prompt: Childlike | A Mythical Life
  58. Childlike| A Mother’s Plea | Words from the heart
  59. Daily Prompt: Regrets | Someday I Will Learn

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Mama bear makes an ass out of me sometimes…”

Leave a comment